Add a food
This meal
How to use
Type part of a food's name. USDA names are detailed, so “chicken breast” finds plain breast alongside deli and frozen variants; the base ingredient is listed first. Pick a food, set how much, and the meal total updates.
Where USDA records a serving size, the quantity box counts servings and shows what one serving weighs. Where it does not, the box is in grams. That difference is USDA's, not this page's.
What this page does not do
It does not tell you whether a meal is "healthy", how much of your day
it should be, or what you should eat. Those need a calorie target, and
a calorie target needs an activity level this project has no sourced
method for — see docs/sources/TDEE-gate.md, which records
that gate as failed. So there are no daily goals, no percentages and no
advice on this page, only what a meal contains.
Questions
Where does the data come from?
USDA FoodData Central, in two releases: Foundation Foods (current analyses) and SR Legacy (2018). Both are public domain under CC0 1.0. Each food is listed with the release it came from.
Why does a food sometimes say “not reported”?
USDA did not measure that nutrient for that food. It is shown as “not reported” rather than 0, because zero and unmeasured are different claims. A meal total that would sum over the gap is left incomplete instead.
Why do some records come from 2018?
SR Legacy covers far more everyday foods than the current analyses do, so dropping it would remove pasta, bread and most oils from the search entirely. Those records are labelled so you can see which is which.
Are these the same numbers on a food label?
Usually close, not always identical. Labels round, use different serving sizes, and allow for moisture loss. USDA is the source here, and this page reports what USDA published.
Can I share a meal?
Yes. The link under the total encodes the foods and amounts. Whoever opens it gets the same meal rebuilt from the current database.
Source
U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service. FoodData Central. Foundation Foods (2026-04-30) and SR Legacy (2018-04). Public domain, CC0 1.0 Universal. fdc.nal.usda.gov
Where USDA gives both a measured energy value and a value computed from macronutrients by its own Atwater factors, this page uses the measured one when it exists and otherwise uses USDA's computed figure. Which one was used is recorded per food rather than presented as though they were the same kind of measurement.